Extra Guests: House accommodates 12, guest wants to bring 14

Answered!
Tiffany898
Level 1
Des Moines, IA

Extra Guests: House accommodates 12, guest wants to bring 14

Hey All!!!

I'm new to hosting and I have a 5 bed 3 bath home. My guest booked for 10 people, now says she has 12 people which is our max. She's asking if she can have 14 people stay at the house. 1) would you allow this? I have 1 day to turn over this house to the next guests. 2) how much should I charge per extra guest? 

I do think if I cancel this reservation it would get filled. This reservation is for 2 days (Saturday and Sunday) in August.

Thank you so much for your advice!

Tiff

Des Moines, IA

Top Answer
Jennifer1897
Level 10
Irvine, CA

@Tiffany898  Personally I would stick to your clearly mentioned capacity of 12 people. When she booked the initial reservation, she had to manually select the number of guests, so I guarantee she is aware that she is asking for something outside of your set rules. Sometimes when you allow guests to bend the rules, they take advantage moving forward. Not say to say she is this type of guest, but it opens the door for them to push further boundaries. Additionally, more people creates more wear and tear on the home, more cleaning, and additional use of amenities.

I would say something along the lines of "Hello XYZ, thank you for reaching out, unfortunately the max number of guests our home is set up for is 12 people. This number is set to assure the safety and comfortability of all guests. I would be unable to approve additional people. Please let me know if you have any further questions." 

View Top Answer in original post

6 Replies 6
Marie8425
Top Contributor
Buckeye, AZ

@Tiffany898