Guest asking for a refund

Answered!

Guest asking for a refund

Hello,

so I’m pretty new to Airbnb as a host, and recently I had this lady who had absolutely no complaints during the stay. After she checked out, she left a complete mess for the house. It seemed like she had a party at the house with lots of empty alcohol bottles and balloons everywhere, which party isn’t allowed and there wasn’t any communication about a party. Later in the day she texted asking for a $100 refund because there was large amount of ant in the counter which non of my past guests has ever complained about, nor has my cleaning service has said anything about ants in the house. It seems like she’s was threatening me with a bad review to give her the refund. Should I give her the refund when she doesn’t have any prove? 

1 Best Answer
Susan1188
Level 10
Marbella, Spain

@Guoying0  I'm sorry this happened to you!
I hope you took photos of the balloons and other mess, and started up a chat with Airbnb customer service, to get extra cleaning fee and review removed from this guest for hosting a not-allowed party.

But I had a quick look at your listing.
Your house is lovely.

but you have a 4 bedroom villa, you are renting for less than 300 dollars a night (plus cleaning)?  And you allow 1 night stay by instant book?

I mean really what can you expect except people wanting to have parties.  Was this person travelling from locally and booked only one or two nights?  There you have it.

You need to update your parameters and house rules, not allow 1 night stays, increase your price depending on how many people, install outdoor camera to see how many people coming, be on top of communication and check in to make sure people arriving are all registered on your booking.  Take ID.  Not Airbnb ID process, that is separate, airbnb will not share with you.  Get their name, adress, email, ID info, for all guest staying.  If they rent a bicycle, they must give ID.  Why not to you, for your home.