Host asking for more money

Host asking for more money

Hi guys. I recently moved to Stockholm to a nice appt I rented through Airbnb because I wanted to feel safe in a totally new country to me.

Everything went well, until the host is now asking for more money because what airbnb gives to him is too low. He wants to charge me with 700 USD more.

He threatens me with cancellation and legal actions (as he says I promised him more money, which is not true, as I told him that if we decided to stay more time after airbnb contract ended, I was going to pay more).

I am afraid if making the claim, because I am in his house and if he cancels, I have to find a place with all my stuff, which is extremely hard and expensive here, pay for it and he is also threatening with legal actions.

I am new in this country and I do not want problems. Do you know if Airbnb could relocate me? Someone has had a similar issue?

6 Replies 6
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Pedro1656 it feels like the host is a jerk. Theoretically Airbnb will try to find you a new place if you are kicked out and the host will be penalised but anything they will do is subject to availability. Try token all messaging on Airbnb although this is tricky if you are sharing a house.

Best advice might be to try and find somewhere else yourself and then mutually shorten your stay.

Gillian166
Level 10
Hay Valley, Australia

@Pedro1656  oh no, this host is scamming you. did you choose some place "too good to be true" ie, very cheap? why is this host charging you in USD?

you do not have to pay them any more, there is NO WAY that if this goes to mediation that airbnb will make you pay more. did he message you through the platform? if you are messaging off platform (whatsapp or other) then this is 1000% a scam. 

make sure you keep messaging ONLY in the airbnb app, so if you aren't, you need to put all this in writing, into the messaging system in the app.