Host not writing a review

Host not writing a review

As I'm new to AirBnB, I was wondering what the protocol is (if any) for reviews.  Booked and stayed at our first AirBnB, and the experience was nearly perfect.  No problem booking, instructions sent the week before the stay were detailed, and the flat was as advertised.  The only hiccup (mine) was that I had e-mailed for confirmation a couple of times in the month before the reservation just to make sure everything was OK - we were travelling abroad and I wanted to confirm that our reservation had no issues - not having used AirBnB before, I didn't want to show up and be shut out and scramble for somewhere to stay.  I couldn't get an answer from the Host, which just caused me to worry even more.  I reached out to AirBnB, and they sent a message to the host, and shortly after, I did get a conformation from the Host which eased our minds.  we sent a note when we arrived saying we checked in, we sent a note when leaving thanking them, and we responded and complied with a request to leave early so they could get cleaners in.  We left a 5 star review in under two days after leaving.  After a couple of weeks of not getting a review from the Host, we sent a Message asking if we had done something that had caused them not to leave a review.  We received no reply, and still no review.  I would just chalk this off, but we'd like to use AirBnB again, and I know Hosts would feel a little more comfortable renting to us if we had a review.  Strangely, the Host has reviewed some guests (but not all) who have stayed there after us.  I guess we're just out of luck on this?

12 Replies 12
Gwen386
Level 10
Lusby, MD