I've been blocked for 3 months

Answered!
Mrs-G0
Level 2
Carlisle, PA

I've been blocked for 3 months

Hi. I'm new to Airbnb. 

A man booked my house for 3 months and the app gave him 40% off which would put me in the negative.  No profit at all $61 per night for a 3 bedroom house.

I called Airbnb and let them know the smart pricing screwed me and that at that price, especially during winter, it wasn't financially prudent. 

Mortgage and utilities wouldn't be fully covered. I  canceled , so now the 3 months are blocked off. 

Can I appeal it?

I have changed the monthly discount to 10% instead of 40%. 

1 Best Answer
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Mrs-G0 

You are responsible for the prices and discounts you set in the listing. Smart Pricing can not "screw" you, as it is you who is setting the minimum / maximum price.

As a new host better not start with "long term stays" (so set maximum stay to 27 nights).

Did you ask Airbnb to cancel the reservation penalty free ? ("I am a new host and made a mistake" sometimes will convince them to do so)

Did you ask the guest to cancel the reservation within 48 hours after booking ? (then guest would receive full refund)

Only Airbnb can make the dates available, maybe contact them again, as 3 months blocked on your calender is a severe penalty for a new host !

View Best Answer in original post

9 Replies 9
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Mrs-G0 

You are responsible for the prices and discounts you set in the listing. Smart Pricing can not "screw" you, as it is you who is setting the minimum / maximum price.

As a new host better not start with "long term stays" (so set maximum stay to 27 nights).

Did you ask Airbnb to cancel the reservation penalty free ? ("I am a new host and made a mistake" sometimes will convince them to do so)

Did you ask the guest to cancel the reservation within 48 hours after booking ? (then guest would receive full refund)