Language of the listing

Jakub---Boris0
Level 10
Prague, Czechia

Language of the listing

My listings are translated in 30 languages. There is one language, however, that predominates - which is called default language. For all my listings, it is French (as I am french). I would like to change this default language to English. Why should I do this? If you make a search in another language than the 30 in which the ads are translated, for example in Albanian, the ad will be displayed in the default language, with a possibility for the user to have it translated in his language by google translation. There are 2 advantages to have English as default language : 1) it's a language that is more spoken than French, and many people can understand without using google translation, 2) I'm a translator, and google translation is obviously much more efficient when it translates from English. How can I change the default language of my listings?

8 Replies 8
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Jakub---Boris0 

The language which is displayed depends on the local Airbnb website that person is using.

If i browse your listing via Airbnb.com, it shows me English

If using Airbnb.nl, it shows me Dutch.

If using Airbnb.fr, it shows me French

if using Airbnb.ca (Canada), it shows English

The primary language is the one the listing is created in, other languages are added.

BTW At the bottom of each lisitng users have an option to change language (and currency)

Maybe also interesting you:

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/2651/how-do-i-change-the-language-on-airbnb

You don't answer my question 

If you browse my listing via Airbnb.com, it shows you English, if my listing is translated in english. BTW it should show my listing in french, as french is my default language for the listings, and I suppose, that it's the default language, which is used on Airbnb.com.