Missing key and possible violation of no smoking policy

Missing key and possible violation of no smoking policy

Hi everyone my name is Julie and I have been hosting for approximately 3 months. I airbnb a guest suite attached to my home. On the whole things have gone really smoothly and I find the majority of guests are really respectful. Just a couple of things I would love to hear other people's thoughts on. We have a lockbox and there was also an additional key located in the property in on the other door. Recently we let the place out whilst we were on holiday (for the first time, with some trepidation). I had family and friends taking care of the place and doing the cleaning. One guest towards the end of our holiday, contacted me to say there was no spare key in the door inside. I contacted family and the friend who was cleaning - they had not seen it. All guests denied seeing it. However, I know it was there when we departed. Because it is a key to part of our home - I wonder if I should be concerned or just put it down to someone losing it or mislaying it and not telling me. It is difficult to contact people a week or so after the event... if I had been there, I would have noticed immediately as I always do an inventory check - so this was an oversight on my part in not making it clear to my cleaner to double check the second key (the cleaner is a close friend and I trust them implicitly). Should I change the locks or just accept it is part and parcel of holiday lets?