Must I warn for ticks and ev snakes?

Answered!

Must I warn for ticks and ev snakes?

Hello everyone, this is my first year as a host. We live in the countryside, and I rent out a guesthouse on our property. The house is only some 50 meters from the main house. 

In the airbnb listing, you are supposed to warn guests from dangerous animals. So I wonder, are ticks, snakes and jellyfish dangerous? To me they are not, they are just natural co-inhabitants that I have to take caution of. Like not running without shoes in high grass, or swimming in the sea without taking a look around.

I have never been snakebitten, but sometimes I do get ticks in summertime. Do hou think I have to write that in my listings? 
Thanks for your advice!

@Katinka13

1 Best Answer

@Katinka13  A few years ago I stayed with a friend on a small island in Finland, and since it was my first time in that region I was really surprised to be constantly spotting snakes. They didn't bother me and nobody got bitten, but my friend got quite a fright. It's a common enough phobia that I would recommend making some mention of them in the listing. People who are truly terrified of snakes should think twice before booking, and everyone else should at least be reminded to pack appropriate footwear and watch where they step.

I wouldn't necessarily put ticks or non - deadly jellyfish in the same category, as they tend to be more of a nuisance than a terror. But plenty of city folks have no idea what to do if they get a tick or a jellyfish sting on their skin, so you might want to include some helpful prevention tips in your House Manual, and keep a tick twister in your first aid kit. 

View Best Answer in original post

3 Replies 3