Overuse of electric

Answered!

Overuse of electric

I am very new to hosting guests.... and I got 2 guests staying on one floor for 2 months as my first guests and its been about a month now. The problem is they changed all the lightbulbs to blackout lights the first day, and never turn any lights off nor space heaters. I'm concerned about the space heaters being running all the time. It has tripped the main electric power multiple times already. They keep their rooms at 78F or higher (I only found this out when we had to fix their bathroom in the afternoon). Our main central heater is set at 68F and the floor I live on stays around 70 to 72F depending on the sunlight so its not like the place is freezing cold. Can these space heaters be safe hazard or something where I can ask the guests to turn these off when they are not home at least? Is there a reasonable way to charge these guests extra for excessive usage of electric? 

Thank you for your advice!

1 Best Answer
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Why did you let them change the lightbulb?. You are the owner. Tell them to put your light bulbs back and remove theirs.

Why do you have space heaters at your property. @Soohyun1 when you already have central heating. If they have brought them you need to tell them to stop using them or they will need to leave the listing.

You can install motion sensors so lights etc are only on when someone is in the property. Do not allow any heating other than your central heating.

By the way your photos sounds you have no curtains or blinds to help keep the house warm or rugs/carpeting.  Would be also bringing homely touches/decorations/artwork,

View Best Answer in original post

8 Replies 8
Ross869
Level 4
Navarre, FL