Pet fee

Answered!
Lisa8154
Level 2
Salem, MA

Pet fee

Hello all,

I am fairly new to hosting, started in April 2023. I recently had a guest book for her daughter and daughters friend, who had a dog. The guest did not inform me upfront that she would not be staying and did not pay the pet fee. When I realized the pet fee was not paid, they had already checked in and I requested the fee through air bnb. The guest never paid the fee. The girls that stayed left poop filled bags on the porch and next to the front steps. I have not provided a review because I don't know what to say. Any advice is much appreciated. 

1 Best Answer
Ana2038
Level 10
Santa Ana, CA

@Lisa8154 , please leave an honest review based on facts. It is a disservice to other hosts when less than honest reviews are left or worse not posted at all. No one wants to host a guest(s) that fails to abide by host(s) house rules and/or Airbnb rules/policies.

View Best Answer in original post

13 Replies 13
Inna22
Level 10
Chicago, IL

@Lisa8154 

Shows how stupid some people are. They were trying to hide the dog, so not to pay the fee yet they left poop bags everywhere.

Do you give any check out instructions to your guests? Are they expected to take the garbage out? Did they leave the house in good order otherwise?

I know there is a section on Airbnb to put down the number of pets when you book but people don’t read or maybe they’ve decided to bring their dog later. Make sure that you state that there is a Pet fee in your listing.

Based on this limited information, I would say something like: xx brought a dog however refused to pay the pet fee. They also left a significant amount of unsanitary garbage around the property.

Make sure that you pursue the pet fee. Even though they refused to pay, you can escalate it through air cover. I’m sure you have already cleaned everything up and I hope you took pictures before you did.