The most disasterous journey I had in my life (yesterday 2023.06.11./Sunday)

Fanni30
Level 2
Budapest, Hungary

The most disasterous journey I had in my life (yesterday 2023.06.11./Sunday)

Hi Everyone,

I'd like to express my disappointment and my whole story which had happened to me yesterday. It caused me a serious financial and emotional damage so I really hope that nobody else has ever had this experience and never will. 

I am an English teacher from Hungary so London and all the English speaking countries are precious for my heart. I decided to visit London for 8 days and use Airbnb which I have never used beforehand to find a kind host and spend a lovely time in my dream city. 

I booked the accommodation c.a. 5 month before in Islington, and paid everything to my host who seemed kind, got an upper 4 grading and booked it. 

Yesterday was the first day of my journey and I was the most excited young lady you can imagine. My flight was great, I arrived to Luton at 7.40 then travelled to London.  I remained in contact with my host and wrote to him at 9 a.m. that I will be extra punctual and get to his house until 12. He replied that he is waiting for me. I bought my oyster had 2 heavy bags with me and chilled in parks until 11 because I had to go to his home 12 the earliest. At 12 I was there. Called him...no answer, wrote to him, no reply. I heard singing from the house and the sound of the vacuum. I am a honest-to-god person, so I thought they can't hear me because they are preapring the room for me.

After c.a. half an hour waiting I called again and  he still did not pick up the phone, but after a while he called me back....

TO SAY HE CANCELLED MY WHOLE TRIP and I will get a refund. I was in complete shock...Imagine that you are abroad, young, a university student, completely alone, prepared for everything but not for this. He wrote to me at 9 that he is waiting for me and 3 hours passed and he cancelled.