The worse customer service I have ever experienced regarding a £1400 refund

Answered!
Fiona814
Level 2
Southampton, United Kingdom

The worse customer service I have ever experienced regarding a £1400 refund

Firstly 99% of the call handlers have been patient, calm and have tried to help but they are not trained to deal with some issues and I have been chasing £1400 for nearly 2 months. Unfortunately, the host cancelled, bit odd as he said his wife needed urgent surgery so he could not manage his house next June, funnily enough you can book any week next year just not the week he cancelled.  If the surgery is urgent why is the surgery next June, anyway, it's his house he can do what he wants just a shame it left me in a massive pickle. The card we used to pay it has since closed ie John Lewis changed their card provider so it has caused a massive issue. The worse thing is after weeks of chasing and going round and round and talking to more than 30 different people! they sent it to the closed account AGAIN, I mean how totally incompetent can one be? Seems there is no ombudsman or anyone to help, they can do what ever they like so it seems. One call handler today said" I am so sorry I am going to sort this out for you now you are going to get your money today" oh my god what an absolute lie, he puts me through to a guy who starts with "how can I help you what is your issue?" I had to say it ALL AGAIN. I have been told so many lies and then when it first started a lady said "your bank are lying" HSBC will have an audit trail for money how can they lie, I am lost for words and losing the will to live.

1 Best Answer
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Fiona814 There was a similar issue with John Lewis cards and, if memory serves me correctly, the money was sat in the bank so Airbnb may be correct. See the Guardian article below