Scam

Paul8791
Level 1
Harpenden, United Kingdom

Scam

Hi,

I'm fairly new to hosting with great guests so far.  I have one lady who asked to book as i have pre-approval, but then after i responded disappeared.  Then a few days ago came back asking to book for a month which i agreed to.  She then asked to come a few days earlier as its her daughters birthday.  She had said she was coming from abroad and her card isn't working, but she would go to the bank to get it sorted so i said i'd hold the dates.  A couple of times she has mentioned paying directly but i've said no.  She is still saying she is trying to sort the situation out and can i hold the dates.  It seems like a scam, but i cant figure out how they are trying to scam me, as i've clearly stated i will only take the reservation once paid on the platform.  Tonight she messaged saying she was speaking to Airbnb as her one time passcode for her visa wasn't working.  Has anyone else experienced something like this?  

thanks

6 Replies 6
Gwen386
Level 10
Lusby, MD

@Paul8791 You’re either really, really nice or need a booking. I recommend stop communicating with this person. She’s already a problem and hasn’t even booked your rental. There are lots of red flags! Just block this person if you find that you just have to respond. The only problem she’s having is that she does NOT have the funds. 

Paul8791
Level 1

I'd like to think nice, but you are indeed right, I've spent way too much time already on it.  I'll block them.  Never ceases to amaze me that there are people out there doing this sort of thing.

Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Paul8791 

No, no, no. This could just be someone who is inexperienced and doesn't know how to use the platform (not sure if she already has previous reviews?), but that is not your problem. She needs to book and pay via the platform, and that's it. If she wants to change her dates, she can either send you an alteration request or vice versa.