Wheelchair accessible rental

Wheelchair accessible rental

I am new to AIRB&B but have been renting out my wheelchair accessible condo on Maui for over 25 years to other disabled people.  I am a C5/6 quadriplegic and I set up my condo to be wheelchair accessible which includes an accessible bathroom with roll in shower.  Over the years I've gained a loyal following of guest but want to augment my rentals with AirB&B as they have a wheelchair accessibility filter.  My main reason for posting is to hear from any other hosts (if any) that specialize by offering wheelchair accessible accommodation  and guidance on how best to avoid grief/conflict while continuing to run my own website.  Thank you in advance.  Aloha  Bruce

11 Replies 11
Debra300
Level 10
Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

@Bruce573,

Great topic.  Bumping your post so others can see it.

Emilie
Community Manager
Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

Hi @Bruce573

I agree with @Debra300, what a great topic! What would be your own top tips after renting a wheelchair accessible condo for so long and gaining such a loyal following of guests? What type of grief/conflict worries you the most?   

A few Hosts, including @Melodie-And-John0 and @Sarah-A-1 for example, have discussed their experience here, which you might found interesting.

Have a lovely day ☺️

Emilie

-----

Merci de jeter un oeil aux Principes du Community Center/ Please follow the Community Guidelines

Bruce573

Hi

i m Gayle. My friend has MD as do her two sons. She built a wheelchair short-term rental at Carolina North Carolina six years ago. She and  a group of volunteer decided to create a website featuring a map of the US with approximately (and still growing) 571 accessible.

You may want to check it out. It’s called BecomingRentABLE.