Advise on number of beds and type of beds

Advise on number of beds and type of beds

Hi, I am new to Airbnb, and to being a host. I am preparing two houses, for renting out. I have two questions on beds.

1. How important are double beds? My smaller house, with kitchen, bathroom and living room, sleeps 6 people. Currently in bedroom A with 1 double bed (which will stay as it is), and bedroom B with 2 bunk beds. I could reorganize bedroom B so it has 1 double bed and 1 bunk bed. Doing so would make bedroom B feel less spacious, but still OK. Which option would be preferred by guests?

2. I know having many beds is important, but is that valid also if there is just one bathroom? My bigger house could sleep up to 14-15 people, if I optimize it. 2 + 3 + 3 in ordinary bedrooms, 4 in a walk-through bedroom, and 2-3 in sofa beds in the living room. There is plenty of dining table seating, and a big enough kitchen. However, the house only has 1 bathroom (with the only WC inside it). Is it worth the effort to organize so many beds (e.g., the sofa beds and the beds in the walk-through bedroom)? Or will guests who need this many beds always choose other places with more bathroom capacity?

The location is countryside. The guests will come here for the tranquility, walks in the forest, swimming in the lakes, fishing.

Grateful for help.

8 Replies 8
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Walden1 The biggest mistake hosts can make is cramming too many bed spaces into their listings. At best it will attract poor reviews due to the discomfort people will experience. At worst it will attract a poor standard of guest who will damage your property.

The lack of bathrooms is particularly key in your situation. Please just stick to 2 guests per bedroom and you will be fine.

Thank you! Very helpful @Mike-And-Jane0 .