Laundry

Patrice472
Level 2
Springfield, GA

Laundry

Hey 

So I’m new to hosting. I have a home and guests have their own room and bathroom and we share certain spaces. I have pretty pricey smart washer and dryer. I have recently had a few issues with guests not adhering to some rules when it comes to the washer and dryer. I have it clearly stated that guest must be briefed on its use by the host before they use them. Guest just proceed to use them, putting detergent and softener in the drum when the machines self dispenses. 🫣 I have also have guests doing laundry every other day or doing 3 or more loads per day. 

I would like to update my laundry rules to the following to minimize wear and tear on my appliances lower utility costs. I would love some feedback

1. Laundry services are restricted to guest staying a week (7 days) or more. 

2. Guests are limited to 2 loads per wk.
3. Guests must not operate the washer and dryer until they have been briefed by the host. 

6 Replies 6
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Patrice472 I find it quite amusing that machines are now so clever that people need special training to use them. Clearly simplicity is no longer a design requirement.

Having said that a few thoughts

1) Can you not have a simple laminated sheet of instructions for the guest taped to the machine?

2) Perhaps consider charging $X per load rather than limiting usage. An honour system would hopefully not be overly abused.

Hey that could work but I have already it in the rules that guests must be briefed prior to use and they completely ignore it and go ahead and use it incorrectly. I will definitely try that though. How would charging per load go? Would I collect the payment directly from them? That’s something I would like to avoid lol 

@Patrice472 I would just leave a jar for payments - Some will no doubt abuse it but most will not.

@Patrice472. This is a great topic to raise.