Sharing my space and having my personal pictures up

Sharing my space and having my personal pictures up

Hello Community,

I am new to hosting. I live in my home and host as well. My question: what is your advice on displaying family photos and designs in your home where you live and rent out private rooms? Now, in the private bedrooms, I do not have personal pictures, but in the living spaces I do. Please advise. Thank you. I feel that if I take down my family photos in my home, it will not be a special place called home to me anymore. Tell me your thoughts. Thank you. 

Terrell

5 Replies 5
Pat271
Level 10
Greenville, SC

@Terrell22  These days, it’s better not to leave out family photos and other personal items, although historically Airbnb started with someone renting out their couch, which was just fine at the time. Now, though, I’ve seen guests get quite irate when they find too many personal items in “their” rental.

I have a few books, games, pamphlets about the area, and some artwork on the walls that I leave for guests. All bedroom and bathroom drawer items, photos, refrigerator magnets, my computer and printer, etc. get packed and locked up in 1 large closet. I doubt my guests even know I normally live there.

However, if other hosts argue that they fully disclose in their listing that there will be some personal items left in the home, perhaps showing a couple of photos, and then reiterate during booking what to expect, then that would be OK too.

Basically, we are all different and have different properties and offerings, and many things are acceptable as long as expectations are set and met. 

Ann72
Level 10
New York, NY