Bookings, security deposit

Farida50
Level 1
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Bookings, security deposit

Hi all! Happy to be part of this community! I have to say that it s not easy and I am still learning... I had an issue regarding the price on custom length, then someone booked for a month and the price was for a night actually...🙈 I canceled it but abnb still kept this error. Basically I had to cancel this one month booking which is blocked now !!!! How to be able to revert it? I need to book some guests on December that s the best season! Also regarding security deposits how much do you ask for and I noticed that guests say that they dis not know abt it....I mentioned it on the fee section... Why can t we accept or decline an inquiry from the website on our phones ? Once I click on the pink reddish bar it says error then I have to open the browser and log in to my account...a bit complicated... When a guest is willing to extend his stay how do we do? Thanks a lot!

2 Replies 2
Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia

@Farida50

when the host cancels the booking then these days remain blocked by Airbnb and there are also other penalties. If the host has a valid reason to cancel, as you had, then you should have to call Airbnb and asked them to cancel penalty-free bc you are a new host and made a mistake.

Security deposit is not actually taken by Airbnb even though you can set it on your listing, I think it's within the "policy and rules"  or in "pricing and availability" .  If you intend to take it in cash on arrival then you should make sure your guests know about it before you allow them to book and to agree to it . So you should turn off instant booking. ( most guests don't read the listing carefully )

You don't have to pre-approve or decline INQUIRIES. Just answer with a text message within 24 hours.

But, you have to accept or decline BOOKING REQUESTS. Browse the help section to learn the difference.