Critique my listing - Islam, Almaty, Kazahkstan

Answered!
Muslim4
Level 6
Almaty, Kazakhstan

Critique my listing - Islam, Almaty, Kazahkstan

Screenshot 2023-01-26 at 11.04.05.png

Hello fellows!

I am a newbie host here on Airbnb. My apartment is in a good area of Almaty (Kazakhstan), in the city center. Cozy and pretty nice.
I listed it a couple of weeks ago, set the reasonable price, but there were no reservations. So, I needed to lower the price till the AirBnb minimum limit to get my first reservation. I would like to ask you to take a look at it and provide me with the comments/recommendations on how to make it more attractive.

IMG_3122.JPGIMG_3129.JPG

Here is it:  https://airbnb.com/h/apartment-in-almaty-center

1 Best Answer

Airbnb uses an algorithm to rank your listing when potential guests search for a place to stay.  By blocking so many dates, you are doing a few things that negatively affect your ranking in the search.  First, you are getting a low ranking by the algorithm because Airbnb likes to promote listings that will have more availability.  Second, you are limiting your listing from being seen by any travelers that aren't specifically looking ONLY for the dates you have open on your calendar.  This means nobody sees your listing.  Nobody clicks on your listing.  This causes the algorithm to give your listing an even lower ranking in the search.  This is a self-perpetuating negative spiral. 

Since yours is a new listing, you should be taking advantage of the "boost" that airbnb gives to all new listings.  Open up your calendar as far into the future as you can.  I would say 3 months at a minimum.

Also retake any of your photos that aren't brightly lit.

Good luck!

View Best Answer in original post

19 Replies 19