First Christmas Hosting!

Alva1748
Level 1
Palmwoods, Australia

First Christmas Hosting!

Hi all, I am completely new to hosting an d have decided to give it a go this year over Christmas, my question is how do you know what to charge for the Christmas fortnight ? When I initially looked on Air bnb fo ray area the prices were crazy but when I've listed my house now its saying suggested rate per night of a lot less, do I just list for the crazy prices ? Also im concerned about the cancellation policy, what happens if they pull out ? Im relying on this income for the holidays, and there doesn't seem to be a non cancellation policy for the holidays ? Also has anyone ever offered hire cars etc as additions to the listing or is this not a thing ? Can you do add ons? Like if they want additional cleaning ? Or if they want to add on the option of adding on Christmas decorations? 

1 Reply 1

Hi, nice place and welcome to hosting! Your photos are great!

The price entirely depends upon your risk appetite. It will probably be easier to get bookings at a higher rate closer to Christmas as by then you will hopefully get some bookings and build a good rating, and you will surface higher in the searches, especially if you can get super host level. But if you want a booking now, then just make it much cheaper than the comparison places in the area around that period. You are untested so guests are taking a chance on you so make it worth their while because they will be thinking, hmmm, are you still going to be hosting by Xmas if they are new and don't even have a booking yet? Btw I ignore the recommended pricing ranges. Never has been useful to me. I suspect useful for smaller properties.

Never seen anyone do add ons through airbnb for car hire. Do you mean your car? Well honestly I think if they are flying in, they will rent from the airport anyways. Your property looks at a level that they won't be coming in as backpackers!