Getting Started...HELP

Esther767
Level 2
Dallas, TX

Getting Started...HELP

Hello Airbnb Community, 

My name is Esther. I am a school teacher from Rockwall, Texas. I am looking to get started hosting my first Airbnb.  I am thinking to either purchase or lease a property to host on Airbnb. 

*I need any advise or tips that you can give, I would love to have a mentor to help me get started. 

I will take any advise or help that you can offer. 

Thanks in advance, 

Esther

10 Replies 10
Debra300
Level 10
Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

@Esther767,

Welcome to the community.  Hosts here do share a lot of information based upon their experiences, and I suggest that in addition to your inquiry that you do some legwork here, and do topic searches at the top of this blog.

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

You can see if there is a local host group in your area and post there to see if there is an experienced host there that you can pay  to mentor you to set up and manage your listing @Esther767 

there are also free guides on this community and you can familiarise yourself with how Airbnb works by reading the Airbnb Help Website 

M199
Level 10
South Bruce Peninsula, Canada

@Esther767 

Just an FYI, Airbnb is just a marketing platform for your business.  You need to do your due diligence to start, and run your own business.  Either, self employed, corporate or LLC.

You also need to investigate various things like.. 

1 - commercial rental insurance

2 - local bylaws, ie.  Taxes (federal, state, city, municipality)bylaws, fire codes,  municipal accommodation taxes,

3 - Consider as well financial information and reporting.  Unless, you have a very good understanding of finances,taxes and related monies, you will likely need an accountant or tax professional.

Best wishes!

M199
Level 10
South Bruce Peninsula, Canada

@Esther767 

My previous post is a starting point for you😉  We, this past summer helped a guest become Superhosts, and neighbours are Superhosts.