Long Term Stay - Cleaning Responsibilities

Savion0
Level 1
New York, NY

Long Term Stay - Cleaning Responsibilities

HI AirBnB Community,

My name is Savion and I'm fairly new to being a host.

I have a long term guest who is asking me to wash their sheets for them after requesting that I give them detergent. On top of that, I gave them a laundry card at the beginning of their stay to help them with their laundry during their stay at our local laundry mat.

Given the facts stated above, it is my resposibility to clean their towels? I charge no cleaning fee and I'm not sure if I see this as right.

I just wanted to check in with my community to confirm AirBnB policy and past experiences/ resolutions.

Thanks!,

Savion

8 Replies 8
Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Hi @Savion0, I am not sure if there is a policy on this, although I think I read somewhere on the forums that Airbnb recommends you do a clean/linen change after a week. I don't know if that is actually true as I couldn't find any info on it when I searched the help section.

I think what services you provide in terms of linens, towels, laundry and cleaning are up to you, but it would be a good idea to make these clear from the start. A good place to do this is in your house rules. Make sure you message guests before booking to double check that they have read the full listing and house rules and agree to them. I see you are using Instant Book, in which case, the guests still have to agree to the rules in theory, but it's better to message them after booking to make sure.