Parents help!! Hosting while having a baby?

Vanessa533
Level 2
Colorado Springs, CO

Parents help!! Hosting while having a baby?

Hi everyone!

It's my first time posting and I was scouring the community topics to see what people had to say about their experience with being a host while raising a newborn. I originally wanted to block off three months after the baby was born but we need the money before I start working again.

Has anyone had expereince with such a situation? Is it a bad idea to be hosting with a newborn in the house? My dedicated space is my basement, and the noise is muffled but I worry that super light sleepers may have an issue with a crying newbor/infant (I offer ear plugs).

I have already updated my lisitng to inform the guests of our new arrival in March and to really consider renting our space, and I started renting out our Airbnb when my first born was 11 months old and have never received a complaint about his crying or noise level, but I'm worried about getting a bad review over a tiny human being that naturally will be crying at any given hour of the day or night.

Thoughts? Experiences?

7 Replies 7
Inna22
Level 10
Chicago, IL

@Vanessa533

I suggest clicking off "potential for noise" button and adding details there as well as in the body of your listing. I have a train right behind my house and only once someone made a fuss about it and that person made a fuss about everything. And congrats!

Thank you Inna! I had already checked off the "potential for noise" from the very beginning since I have a toddler and three dogs, but I worry and wonder about how many people actually read through our pages. I've yet to encounter the "fusses about everything" guest but that's definitely a nightmare of mine!

Susan151
Level 10
Somerville, MA