Smart Pricing

John6641
Level 1
Chatham, United Kingdom

Smart Pricing

Hi All, I am new to Airbnb, but not new to holiday letting. Smart Pricing. I see from other chats it is a contentious subject. I'd like to use it if it works. I turned it on. I set a lower limit of £70 and an upper limit of £250. These were the figures that the bot initially suggested (give or take a few pounds), based on my original pricing target. So, I went with it. I finished the rest of the listing over the next day. I then looked through the listing preview, and I could see the fluctuation between the upper and lower limits, all good I thought. However, when I looked further out, to May, June, July and August, all days were set to the lower limit pricing. Not only is that prime holiday season, but the public holidays before and after were also ignored. Due to other engagements, I left it there for the night.

Today I returned, to see if I could fix it. I went into the area where you set pricing, and cutting a long story short, the suggested pricing has dramatically gone down to something like £45 (low) and £150 (high) respectively!! without any intervention from myself and with the same problem mentioned previously, only now my high season rates are now £45 per night!! Should I just give up on Smart Pricing or am I doing something wrong.

4 Replies 4
Bob297
Level 10
Bilthoven, Netherlands

Yes, you should give up smart pricing. Research your competitors and set your pricing. It's a lot of work. I would give it up quickly, or you run the risk that you will have a lot of reservations at too low a price
@John6641 

Sudsrung0
Level 10
Rawai, Thailand

@John6641