Would you ever give a refund that is not due or deserved, in the interest of goodwill?

Linda3345
Level 10
Corning, NY

Would you ever give a refund that is not due or deserved, in the interest of goodwill?

I've been hosting very successfully for 7 months now, and we finally had our first unhappy guests. 

They asked for early check-in, which I accommodated, but then it was nearly the regular check-in time before they arrived. 

They let me know on the day of check-in exactly how many people were coming, and added an extra dog to the one dog expected. 

Shortly after they checked-in, they started asking how to get ESPN to watch a specific sports game that evening. Our listing clearly says that we have a FireStick, Netflix, and an antenna for local channels. (No cable with ESPN).

They went out and got food, then returned to the house, where we met them in person. 

They communicated that they had one more idea to try to get their sports game through the FireStick. 

After they had been in the house awhile, they apparently left very quietly. We live downstairs, and heard or saw nothing. 

They sent me a text only after they had all left, saying they had to leave because one person had an asthma attack, which they attributed to previous pets staying in the AirBnb, as this person is not allergic to their own labradoodles, but to most cats and dogs. 

They asked for a partial refund. 

Then they cancelled the reservation. I have a Firm Cancellation policy, so by those rules, no refund is due. It is also Easter holiday weekend, and I am booked every weekend, holiday or not. 

I have not yet responded to their request. 

I am considering refunding one night of their 3-night stay, in the interest of goodwill. I do realize I am not at all obligated, and I will let them know that, if I do give a partial refund.