Confirming guests contact information. Incorrect information given to host

Laura4864
Level 2
Maine, United States

Confirming guests contact information. Incorrect information given to host

I have a guest who’s phone number was no longer in service so they did not get my messages . Address was not correct either. Apparently they moved years ago & changed phone numbers ??? I only found this out after they had checked in. 

Different state , different phone number . Doesn’t give host confidence that contact information on renters is current. 
I like to direct contact guests 24-36 hours before arrival . I find the lag time in response thru website lacking if guests need quick response while renting. 

This is my first time as a host & not sure I’ll continue if the lack of current, correct & personal information is not regularly updated. I’ve rented on Airbnb for years & never once have I been asked about any changes to phone number or place of residence. Poor security measures for hosts that have guests in their home. 

5 Replies 5
Pete69
Level 10
Los Angeles, CA

People move and then don't update their profiles. I often have guests stay and their location city is an old one. I would still notify Airbnb.

You'll find out on day two if your payment arrives. Hopefully not booked with a fraudulent credit card. How soon in advance was the stay booked?

Inna22
Level 10
Chicago, IL

@Laura4864 this is a great time to make some changes. First off, ask your guests to acknowledge your message. If they are not, call their number. This is how you can find out in advance if it is not valid and involve airbnb. How were these guests able to check in if they were not getting your messages? Did you meet them in person? How did you know when to meet them? I see you live in the same building. You should be getting a copy of the ID at check in. 

Thank you Inna.