Do we even trust Airbnb?

Micol33
Level 1
Helsingborg, Sweden

Do we even trust Airbnb?

Hi all!

I am a researcher at Roskilde University in Denmark and I am currently researching trust on Airbnb. While I am reading a lot of papers and online news about Airbnb, I would really love to chat with some actual Airbnb users, especially hosts, and find out how people actually feel about it. 
I hope it is ok to post here, but (no need to say it I guess) please remove the post if not. 

My question is really quite open, I would like to hear anyone's opinion on what makes you trust Airbnb as a platform and other people (guests & hosts). But maybe even more importantly, what makes you DISTRUST them? Do you have any examples of experiences that made you trust or broke your trust in the platform and the users? 

Looking forward to getting into a discussion with anyone interested!  🙂

Micol

4 Replies 4
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Micol33 I think your post will survive the moderators but you will not be able to get contact details of other users.

In terms of trust I do trust Airbnb. They supply a fair number of bookings to us and payments have always been on time.

In terms of what makes me distrust Airbnb it is slightly harder. Basically it is stories on social media (including this community centre) where people have been let down by Airbnb in terms of dispute resolution, payments etc. I try to file these in the 'there are always going to be issues but only the bad news gets heard' bucket.

Where I do not fully trust Airbnb is that it is, understandably, aiming to increase it's profit. I can't prove anything but I suspect it does this by enticing large hosts (or companies that manage many properties) with special deals or special exposure in the search rankings such that others lose out. But again, I can control this by listing elsewhere if they go too far.

Hope this helps

Hi!  You're right, I won't be asking any personal information of other users.