Guest asking for refund 12 hours before check-in.

Bk9
Level 2
NY, NY

Guest asking for refund 12 hours before check-in.

Hello,

I am new to hosting and found myself in an unfortunate situation that I would love experienced host's advice on. 

A guest booked our place for 6 nights, two months in advance. We have a strict cancellation policy. 

12 hours before check-in, we received a message from the guest saying there was an unexpected death in the family and they won't be able to make it. She asked for a refund for the trip. 

While I am saddened by her situation and would like to refund her as a human, we also rely on the income from our AirBnB. Giving a full discount financially makes it very difficult for us. I suggested that she cancels the booking immediately so that we can open our calendar and that we'd refund her for all the days we're able to rebook. We're in NYC so last minute bookings are usually possible. I also suggested she reach out to CS, incase they can provide a better solution. 

A few hours later, we heard from AirBnB customer service and this is the part we got pretty upset. The CS person wrote us a message where he went into the details of the death in the guest's family, which I won't include here, and asked if we'd offer a refund as an act of good will. I didn't appreciate being put in a position where CS is providing details we never asked to know, which made a decision that was already difficult a lot worse. Again, if we were able to just offer the full refund we would but financially it is not possible for us. 

I wrote back to CS and explained we'd be happy to offer a partial refund if we're able to rebook the place, but we need the guest to cancel in order to do that.

We haven't heard back from CS in over a day, now the guest's trip already looks like its in progress and I am not sure what we should do next.