Learning to become a Co-Host

Learning to become a Co-Host

I am a college student that is looking to get an opportunity to clean properties, and learn to become a Co-Host. How would I go about finding hosts in my area that would be interested in teaching a young kid who is interested in this type of business? Thank you. 

5 Replies 5
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Nicholas614  You don't say what area you are in, but there are often Facebook hosting groups you may be able to join and connect with hosts or other co-hosts who would be willing to let you apprentice and learn what's involved in cleaning to short term rental standards and learning what's involved in co-hosting. Co-hosting and hosting are really the same thing, it's just that co-hosts take on either some or all of the aspects of hosting because the host lives far away, or prefers not to be involved in running the place. 

So co-hosts need to learn about how to handle almost any issue that comes up. Reading posts on this forum on a regular basis is a really good way to get an idea of pretty much everything, and that's something you can do from the comfort of your own home.

Oh my apologies I forgot to mention, I'm from the San Diego, California area. I have been looking into Facebook groups,  and there is only one in my area, and I am not sure if I will get accepted or not since I am still quite new to this whole scene. However I am 100% committed to becoming an apprentice. I have been called a scammer, and many people in my area are not looking for Co-Hosts at the moment, so I am just kind of confused on what to do, so any given opportunity would be amazing. Thank you for your response!

If the Facebook groups don't work, what do you suggest I try and do? Thanks!

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

You can't expect hosts to teach you the ropes. They employ co-hosts because they have the expertise and knowledge to help hosts run their STR . Not the other way around.