My first reservation request is an odd one. What would you do?

Stephen1448
Level 2
Victoria, Canada

My first reservation request is an odd one. What would you do?

Hi. I'm new at this and listed my place for stays between 30 and 90 days. I received my first reservation (30 days) from a guy in Mexico asking how far the nearest high school is...which didn't exactly create a great first impression. After some back and forth, this is the situation as described: he is half way through a two-year work permit, and he and his wife and daughter started living in Victoria a year ago. They are back in Mexico for the summer but haven't been able to find a long-term rental yet (this is credible, the rental market is brutal) so they want to book for a month while they find a place. He sent me a copy of his work permit but he's only permitted to work with a single company, and it's hours away by ferry. He has 4 positive reviews, including one in Victoria.

What would you do?

Is it possible to speak with the local host who left this guy a review?

Thanks in advance.

7 Replies 7

@Stephen1448  if the previous host has an active listing, you can click  "Contact Host" and write your questions in a fake inquiry, but the host might not appreciate being contacted like that. I suppose you could also check with the employer as a reference.

But if you're only doing stays of 30+ days, you can expect some fairly odd requests. It's a pretty big leap for a guest to book a long term stay in an unreviewed property, and leisure tourists are not in your catchment. 

Andrew, you raise some very good points, thanks for your thoughts.

Michael5047
Level 6
West Palm Beach, FL

@Stephen1448 

If he has 5 star reviews, not from the same host in a short period of time I wouldn't worry about it and accept the request.

Mike from West Palm