New to hosting and I’ve just been done over by a guest and I’m not sure what I can do!

Pav271
Level 1
England, United Kingdom

New to hosting and I’ve just been done over by a guest and I’m not sure what I can do!

Hi I’m new to hosting, we joined Airbnb only a month ago and our property has been very popular. We had a guest stay on the weekend who told us that she was in town for an engagement, but it later transpired that she was hosting her 21st birthday party at the property. We have a strict no parties or events rule because of the location which we made clear. It’s also unlawful to have more then 15 people at the property due to Covid. The neighbours called us early hours of Saturday morning to tell us about the party and as we have a ring doorbell we could see about 20 people gathered outside. We had to call the police and we’re on the phone to the Airbnb supper team for two hours from 3am on Saturday. We were advised we can cancel the reservation and won’t loose the booking fee and we can put in a claim form any damages. But since Saturday Airbnb have refunded the guest and deducted her refund from our pay out and the guest has rejected the claim for damages. I’m not sure the point of a security deposit if it can’t be utilised for cases like this. I have sent images etc of the damages and was on hold with Airbnb team for an hour today, only to be told the department I need to speak to won’t take my call and I have to wait three days until the case worker who dealt with my original call is back in. In addition the guest has written a false review about us, and our account has been suspended because we didn’t realise a ring doorbell classes as a camera and we didn’t list it in our house rules, which I have since rectified. I feel extremely frustrated and helpless - is there anything more I can do? 

12 Replies 12
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Pav271 

Sorry to read about your bad experience