Pet fee not paid

Joe2862
Level 2
Newland, NC

Pet fee not paid

This is my first year hosting, and we've had almost back to back guests since January. Lately we've had guests bringing dogs, (we allow pets), but they never paid the pet fee. Ours is $30. Have other hosts had this problem, and what did you do? Prior to the last month or so, any guest bringing a dog generally paid the pet fee.  Now all of a sudden, the last three  out of five guests have brought dogs. I let the first couple of times go. But now it happened a third time with the guest that just arrived this afternoon; she was out walking her big dog around the property.

I'm a little reluctant to approach them and ask for $30. I feel like this would get their experience off on the wrong foot. On the other hand, it's not fair to us, since we have to spent a little more time cleaning.

Any advice would be helpful. Thanks!

8 Replies 8
Renee291
Level 7
Cincinnati, OH

No need to approach her in person. Use the Resolution Center in the platform and request the pet fee there. Include a friendly reminder message that the pet fee is due. This will also provide a convenient way for her to pay. If she doesn't voluntarily pay, handle it through Airbnb. Maybe snap an inconspicuous pic of her walking the dog in case there's a dispute. In the future, perhaps you can request the fee before or at check in?

Suzanne302
Level 10
Wilmington, NC

@Joe2862  You can add the pet fee to the reservation but the guest has to indicate they are bringing a dog.

First, I would make it clear in your listing description that dogs are welcome with a $30 pet fee. (I didn't look at your listing so you might already have this)

Then, put it in your rules. Nobody reads these but it's a cover your a** sort of thing.

In your welcome message to guests after they book I would reinforce this..."If you are bringing a pet, please let me know as they will need to be added to the reservation and require a $30 pet fee."