Pitiful Airbnb COVID cancellation policy

Pitiful Airbnb COVID cancellation policy

I would like to put on record my deep displeasure with Airbnb and the support I have received these past few days. In less than 24 hours, I had two canceled reservations, one of them was made last year, and they canceled the reservation on the guest's check-in day as his son tested positive for COVID.
Worst of all is that in both reservations, the full refund was made to the guests, that is, I will be at a loss.
I understand the situation we are going through, but unfortunately COVID has been around for a few years, I think it's unfair only for the host to be injured, to have this loss. And the guest? And Airbnb? I know that there are no culprits, but the least guilty, in my case, the hostess, is the one who is being harmed!
Airbnb's cancellation policy should change, guests should pay at least 50%, that's fair.
I've been a Superhost for a while and I've never used this community space before, but I came here today because it made me very upset.
See this Airbnb preference for guests, but it's worth reminding Airbnb that they would be nothing without us, hosts.

8 Replies 8
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

@Ana1276  It sounds like you have only just realised that Airbnb has this policy in place (it's been in place for at least a year) that both hosts and guests (not just guests as you seem to believe) can cancel penalty free if they have Covid.

I do appreciate this is frustrating - it's happened at least eight times to me since Xmas and I also had guests cancel in 2021 too. However as hosts we have freedom of choice about which platforms we use, and we can choose not to use Airbnb if this policy is a deal breaker for us.

When a guest cancels - we as hosts and Airbnb lose out in terms of lost fees. If a host cancels the guest loses out on their trip and Airbnb loses out on their fees.