Refunds

Answered!
Charles1338
Level 2
Knightdale, NC

Refunds

I have been asked about a refund from a person that is having a new house built.  The new house was scheduled to be completed by the end of July, but construction will be delayed and he wants to rent my property for the month of August.  His question is: if the house is completed by the middle of August, can he get a refund for the balance of the month.  As I am brand new at this and Airbnb collects all the money, I don't know how this works.  Help please

1 Best Answer
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Charles1338 Arguably the guest is being unfair. What he is asking for is that you take your listing off the market for a month but he only stays/pays for maybe 2 weeks at which point it will be too late for you to find a new guest. If August is high season for you this is a really bad idea.

To your original question a guest or host can always change the length of a reservation and, if the other party agrees, the payment will be pro rated.

View Best Answer in original post

4 Replies 4
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Charles1338 Arguably the guest is being unfair. What he is asking for is that you take your listing off the market for a month but he only stays/pays for maybe 2 weeks at which point it will be too late for you to find a new guest. If August is high season for you this is a really bad idea.

To your original question a guest or host can always change the length of a reservation and, if the other party agrees, the payment will be pro rated.

@Charles1338   This is the cancellation policy that automatically applies for a booking of 28 nights or more: https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/1361/cancellations-of-longer-stays