Difficult to find listings for St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Stacy30
Level 2
Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Difficult to find listings for St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Hello!

I'm new to being an Airbnb host, and I was hoping someone might have advice on a search issue, not just for my listing but for searching for rentals in my entire geographic area.

I - and my friends and family who're helping me test out searching for and finding my listing - am having a strange issue: When I search for "St. Croix" or "St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands," 1) we have to sift through mounds of listings that are all over the world - Europe, Australia, California, and on and on - and 2) also never finding my listing at all.  We're only finding my listing if we a) type in the broader region of (all) "U.S. Virgin Islands" (which then makes you sift through all the listings in all the Virgin Islands and lists mine quite far down the list!) or b) type in "St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands" (which lists hundreds of places all over the world) and then use the map function to keep zooming in on a map until I'm finally zoomed in on this one island in the Caribbean. (Which is even harder to do on my iPhone than it is on the laptop.)

Any advice for a newbie? I'm at a loss regarding the bigger search issue; I submitted this as official feedback on the Airbnb site but wonder if it will ever be seen/addressed by the company. But for my own listing, should I be typing something I haven't thought of in my listing "location" to make it at least show up somewhere on the list when someone searches for St. Croix, even if they have to sift through hundreds to get to it? I just wonder if many people will take the time to figure out that they have to back up and search for (all) the "U.S. Virgin Islands" or use the map function . . . 

My listing: https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/19806063

Thank you SO much!

Stacy

2 Replies 2
Steve143
Level 10
Limerick, Ireland

Hello @Stacy30,