Additional booking platforms

Ron8603
Level 1
Boise, ID

Additional booking platforms

I'm fairly new to air bnb and am wondering what additional platforms experienced hosts have been successful and happy with? My main concern is double bookings. Any platform better than the next in that respect?

5 Replies 5
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Ron8603 you can synchronise your calendar with other sites but it is not perfect or always immediate. We tried VRBO but got no bookings so gave up after a few months. Also unless you are on host only service fees the pricing between sites needs care as all other sites charge host only commission.

Bob297
Level 10
Bilthoven, Netherlands

@Ron8603 
I use several websites for five properties. I don't want to have all eggs in one basket
Calendars can be connected, but I've experienced that sometimes that connection breaks.
I now use a simple property management system that synchronizes everything for me, and I have not had a problem during the last year.

Lorna170
Level 10
Swannanoa, NC

@Ron8603  Over the 20 years we have offered rental properties, we have listed on multiple platforms and real estate companies in order to have the widest range of advertising.

We have never experienced a double booking, but that is because I will promptly check that the newly booked timeframe is also blocked out on the other platforms.  I use a mixture of Instant Book and Request to book which actually makes this easier (for me), i.e., a property may be Instant Book on one OTA but Request to Book on the others.  The key takeaway for you IMO is to rely on yourself and not on the offered automation.  Accept a booking and immediately reconcile your other calendars.  

While others use property management systems, I do this all myself as this is my "business" and my responsibility to ensure that it moves smoothly.

Debra300
Level 10
Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

@Ron8603,