Help! Adams County is trying to shut us down!

Help! Adams County is trying to shut us down!

Hello, this is my first time posting in a discussion group. I am a 2 year host and a super host with AirbnB. We have a 6 acre property in Colorado. We just received a Code Violation letter from our County telling us that we can no longer have social gatherings and we need to cease all gatherings. Has anyone else experienced this? Is this even legal? The county has several other AirBnB properties. I pay all state and local lodging taxes. The county has self deemed us an events center. We do allow gatherings pre-covid. During covid we follow all social distance regulations. Generally our gatherings are about 40 - 70 people for graduations, weddings, family reunions. We worked with AirBnB before starting this and if they use items like tables, chairs, tent we do charge an extra services fee (with resolution center).

Does anyone else allow pre-approved gatherings? Any issues with respective counties? Im in an unincorporated county - private property. No HOA, etc. 

Ugh, any suggestions???

6 Replies 6
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Exchange1  Is this a new regulation that has been put in place because of COVID, or a general law that will prevent you from ever again hosting a property where events are catered to?

If it's because of COVID and temporary,  40-70 people is a danger to public health and can't see why you would be balking. You can't enforce 70 people social distancing.

There are similar restrictions in many places at this time, all over the world.

Hi Sarah, great question!

No, the Code Violation is NOT due to COVID. 

We are following all state and local regulations on COVID for safety. We also have cancelled and refunded 100% all reservations that requested cancellation due to COVID.