Hosting During The Pandemic

Ammar37
Level 2
Brampton, Canada

Hosting During The Pandemic

Good Day Airbnb Community!

I hope you and your loved ones are safe and healthy!

I am extremely new to Airbnb. However, in love with the idea. I am looking to invest in a property near Niagara Falls/St.Catherine's area. However, I am extremely puzzled as to whether I should wait until the pandemic chaos dies down. Any suggestions/tips from a host in Niagara Falls would be very helpful and appreciated. 

Thank you!

Ammar Masud 

6 Replies 6
丽萍0
Level 3
Alicante, Spain

@Ammar37 My daughter is host since 2013. She had nothing but problems for the past 2 years. I started hosting and I got many problems. A guest brought extra person (unbooked) and probably would be hosting a covid party at our shared apartment, we had to removed him. Airbnb did not even get back, just say: 'Call police'.

Debra300
Level 10
Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

@丽萍0,

It's great that you were very observant to mitigate potential incidents with unauthorized visitors.  What did you expect that Airbnb would do?  Airbnb is a reservation booking platform, and has no authority to remove anyone from someone else's property.   It is the hosts who accept the guests, and as a result it's also their responsibility to control who stays at their properties.

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

I would only look at investing in a property if you are confident you are able to pay for all the costs of running the property if you don't get the level of bookings you need to pay for your property costs. @Ammar37 

Bookings are down massively in many areas. You can look at Airdna to get an idea of what bookings are like in your chosen area. And see if there is tourism footfall figures you can check with the local tourist board.

Also see if there is a local host group for the area you can join and speak to hosts there.