How do I handle extra guest issue after check-out?

How do I handle extra guest issue after check-out?

I am very new to hosting and only on my 6th or so hosting for our cottage.  The rental is for the entire house.

I received a last minute booking by someone with zero reviews.  I know.  The booking was for 2 adults and 2 kids which is fine for this smaller house.  The limit on the listing is 5 people and I do have listed in my house rules, no unregistered guests allowed in the property.  As a newbie I did not have a extra person fee and quite frankly don't want more people than 5 in there. 

I used the Airbnb messaging to send the guest a message which was polite and said I wanted to confirm how many people are staying since the booking only indicated 4 people.  No response.  4 hours later still no response.  I am fairly certain she saw the messages and just ignored them since she checked out 2 days ago and she still did not respond.  Also, they were smoking in the doorway of the house and it's on the RING doorbell footage.  House rules are no smoking in or near the property.  Lastly, check-out at 11am and by 11:45 they were still wrapping up.  

So the stay has ended, I am still learning, but want to know if I can or should seek recourse through Airbnb to ask for additional money.  Is it too late?

They did leave the house in good shape.

Thoughts?

15 Replies 15
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Mike1667 I think I would have just let it go and not contacted them at all. I am afraid all you have done now is risk them leaving a bad review in anticipation that you will do the same. 

Lets hope they don't.

Emilia42
Level 10
Orono, ME

@Mike1667 So how many people were there? 2 adults and 2 children? 

It ended up being 6 chain smoking adults and 2 kids---who were 17 or 18.