How do I test out hosting before publishing?

Emily1090
Level 2
Brattleboro, VT

How do I test out hosting before publishing?

I'm new to AirBnB and want to start hosting. Ideally I would have a month of hosting friends who could give me feedback and write some reviews but I don't know how to set the setting to allow this. The site seems so eager to get me hosting RIGHT AWAY. Has anyone else done a beta-test period? How did you do it?

12 Replies 12
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

If you could do what you suggest @Emily1090 the system would be open to scams from dubious hosts who could obtain false reviews.

if you want friends to stay to road test your listing then have them stay before your listing goes live.  

Emily1090
Level 2
Brattleboro, VT

Hmmm, ok, I guess I understand but I also would like to test the whole online posting/ hosting process. Is there a way to only open up dates to a private audience (friends) but not charge them?

Feels a bit odd but you could switch off instant booking then make the listing live with very low prices and, having warned your friends in advance, just reject any non-friends booking.

Of course this feels like a scam to get false positive reviews but who am I to suggest such a thing.

Mainly my goal is not to scam the system or even get reviews but just to make sure the whole process works hitch-free before I welcome paying guests/ strangers. What do you do if you want to give someone a discount, friends or not? Do you change the published price or adjust it in some other way (I know as a guest I've negotiated rates with hosts, but I don't know how to do it from the hosting side!)

Thanks for the feedback Mike-and-Jane

@Emily1090 There is a button called "Special Offer." You would click it within the messaging screen and then follow the prompts to send the guest another rate.

Emily1090
Level 2
Brattleboro, VT