Price Increase

Maxine94
Level 1
Olifantsfontein, South Africa

Price Increase

Hi all. 

I am fairly new to ABB. We recently booked a holiday house for a week in December 2020/January 2021 and paid for the house in full according to the rate that was advertised. 

The host just contacted us to say that it was the wrong rate and we would have to pay 50% more per day. 

Surely this is not our problem? We paid the full amount for the advertised rate. 

Any suggestions on how to navigate this?

Thanks!

11 Replies 11
Roberta2
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Hello @Maxine94 

I speak as a host. It is my responsibility to ensure that the prices advertised for my room are correct.

If the host did not check prices for high season, it is really not your fault.

I would tell him that you paid the cost advertised, and you are not willing to pay any more. Make sure you communicated via the app - no whatsapp messages - and let Customer services know. 

Gordon0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Like @Roberta2 says, not your problem (and their request smells a bit fishy, @Maxine94). Tell the host they are welcome to cancel the booking (in which case their calendar will be blocked). Do not cancel it yourself. 

Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

Absolutely not on. If you are in the free cancellation period, cancel. Otherwise let host cancel. Really wrong. 

@Maxine94  As a host, I also agree 100% with @Roberta2 and @Gordon0 . If you entered all your details (including guest count) correctly at the time of booking, it is against Airbnb policy for the host to demand a different nightly rate after confirming. 

The host should be the party to cancel, if they aren't willing to accept the confirmed price. Usually when this happens, Airbnb gives you an additional credit that you can use toward a replacement booking. You don't get this if you cancel yourself.

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico