Setting Up New Home

Sarah3453
Level 1
Petersburg, VA

Setting Up New Home

Hi, I am a newbie here.  Going to list a new singlewide here shortly and have a few questions.  Should I get wifi put in right away or is it something I can wait to do?  Most major cell carriers can get service there.  Should tv be in bedroom or living room? I am going old fashion and providing DVD player with some dvds for now.  Also I don't have 2 of the bedrooms furnished yet.  Is that weird to have it listed with only master bedroom being furnished?  Thank you!  

2 Replies 2

@Sarah3453   Welcome! I see you have some experience with home-sharing as a guest, so you have some perspective on what features guests might expect.  But looking at things from the hosting angle,  the first few reviews and ratings your listing receives are absolutely crucial to your success on the platform. That's why I recommend waiting to launch your listing when it is 100% ready to meet guests' expectations.

Firstly, guests overwhelmingly value a good WiFi connection over TV - now, more than ever. A big chunk of Covid-era travelers are people who work remotely and depend on it. And most of those who like to look at a screen for their entertainment would rather stream their choice of content on their own devices than be limited to the old DVDs of someone who might not share their taste.  If you want to go truly "old-fashioned" here, I think you'll need to look further back in time than the 1990s. There's definitely a niche for "unplugged" listings, like rustic cabins or vintage Airstreams. But mainstream clientele are more accustomed to WiFi than they even realize, and tend to feel disoriented when it's not there.

If you do choose to install a TV, the living room would be the better place for it.