I need to cancel a reservation

Candace12
Level 2
Winnipeg, Canada

I need to cancel a reservation

So I'm new to this and I accepted a reservation knowing they may need to stay in town another week.  They accpeted on the basis that I agreed to cancel anotehr person coming next weekend if they had to stay in town longer for work.

So I now want to cancel the guy coming on the weekend of the 23rd so these current guys can stay longer, but it says my listing will remain unavailable and on top of that I wouldn't get superhost status for a year.

Do I have any options here? Like maybe ask the guy to cancel his reservation? 

I really wanted superhost status but unfortunatley I had automatic booking on and this guy booked before I really knew what I was doing...

6 Replies 6
Rachel128
Level 1
New York, NY

Nothing you can do. Don't do favors for guests. Set strict rules and abide by them and expect them follow. leave honest reviews. Don't worry about being "nice". It is a business and have a right and duty to run it properly.

It is a business and as such I don't want my condo empty - these people were willing to book for an extended period which as a busines owner is going to pay my rent, while at the time, I only had one weekend visitor booked for the month of September. So I made a business decision to offer them to cancel this other person. 

I obviously made a blunder in assuming it would be okay to cancel the other guy, however my rationale at the time was that he has 5 days to cancel on me.  Also, I'm NOT going to be charged for the first time cancelling and I just started, so superhost status is still a year away anyway. 

Candace

You cant do that.  Once you except a reservation stick by it.  It will hurt you in the long run.  It will show

on your review.  As a business yes you thought it was the right move.  But realisticly it really hurts you in the long run.

Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom