Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A Community Help Guide

in
Edmonton, Canada
Level 10
71,767 Views

-----------------Updated June 2017--------------------

An updated version of this Community Guide is now available, click here to view.

 

------------------------------------------------------------

 

Some hosts wish to permanently delete one of their listing for several reasons which may include they sold the property, created it by mistake or they are just choosing not to rent it out any longer.  If you wish to permanently remove a listing from your account, follow the instructions below.

 

Here is how you deactivate your listing permanently:

 

Log into Airbnb.com and click on "Host" and "Manage Listings".

 

manage listing.png

 

 

Choose the listing you want to delete and then choose "Manage Listing and Calendar".

 

manage listing 1.png

 

 

You can permanently deactivate your listing by going to "Basics" under the listing section of the left hand menu.  The scroll down and find the red link that says "deactivate this listing".

 

deactivate.png

Tags (1)
42 Replies

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A How To Guide

in
Templeton, CA
Level 10

Another excellent tutorial @Dave-and-Deb0 which I will bookmark for future use along with the one on the Resolution Center!

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A How To Guide

in
The Hague, Netherlands
Level 2

Hello D&D,

 

I deactived by mistake my listing. any idea who can I asked to recover this mistake?

It will take so much effort to make a new listing right  from the beging, and all the photos I lost...

 

any idea?

 

Regards

Adva

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A How To Guide

in
Edmonton, Canada
Level 10

Hi @Adva0,

 

I think you should contact Airbnb on this as I can not give you a definative answer on this.  I know if you "cancel" your whole Airbnb account, they can reactivate it for you BUT I believe when you "Delete" a listing, it permanently deletes it.

 

permanent.png

 

Checkout this link if you wish to contact Airbnb: https://community.airbnb.com/t5/Tips-Tricks/Contact-Airbnb-A-How-To-Guide/m-p/16165#M728

 

Cheers

 

Dave

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A How To Guide

in
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 2

Thank you both so much, I too had made an extra listing by mistake and now have managed finally to get it deleted/ deactivated! Cheers guys!

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A How To Guide

in
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2

Hi @Dave-and-Deb0 Thanks so much for the detailed guide. I've been a host for a while and this morning accidentally created two new listings instead of one (cllicked refresh at the worng time). I now have an incomplete listing that I need to delete - all I can get are prompts to finish it, which is definitely not my intention. Any tricks as to how to fix this one? 

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A How To Guide

in
Randburg, South Africa
Level 1

I've tried deleting a listing I made in error. I've tried going to Basics in Manage Listings and Calendar, but it doesn't offer the option of deleting the listing. I've even uploaded a photo as someone suggested, and then trying to delete it.  Any suggestions?

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A How To Guide

in
Berlin, Germany
Level 2

same problem here. tried to reach the support and the support does not answer.

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A How To Guide

in
United Kingdom
Level 2

thanks very much for this useful advice, Fay

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A Community Help Guide

in
Rancho Mirage, CA
Level 1

Thanks so much for taking the time to reply. Unfortunately, when I follow these instructions, there isn't an option to remove the listing! The screen just says 'Next'.

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A Community Help Guide

in
Ormeau Hills, AU
Level 1

So annoying. AirB&B's suggested process about how to delete (misnamed deactivate) a listing does not work. Unfortunately, I too have found when I follow the instructions, there isn't an option to remove the listing! The screen just says 'Next'.

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A Community Help Guide

in
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level 2

Can you also deactivate a listing that isn't complete? Or do you have to complete the listing first before you can deactivate it?

 

 

thanks,

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A Community Help Guide

in
Edmonton, Canada
Level 10
Hi,

You need to complete it and then you can delete it. I know it is silly.

Dave

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A Community Help Guide

in
London, United Kingdom
Level 2

Many thanks for your help.  I found this conversation thread and it's sorted out my issue.

Re: Delete a Listing (Deactivate): A Community Help Guide

Level 10

I wanted to delete a listing that was unfinished, so I finished it as you suggested and the only option I get now is to publish it,  not to delete it. Any advice?

 

Thank you