Worried about impending guest

Nick1866
Level 4
Limerick, Ireland

Worried about impending guest

Hi guys,

Bit of a strange one here, that I'd love to get your thoughts on. I have a guest and her two children booked into stay with me in the coming days who is returning to the city where I am based.

The buildup to her stay has already been a bit chaotic - in terms of messages being sent.  In her introduction to me, she was quite overfamiliar, and asked if I remember her, as she recalls meeting me once at an event here. I don't remember her, but that wouldn't be uncommon. I'm a journalist and am fortunate to meet a lot of people during the course of my work.

However, I have checked with a few friends, and the mood music isn't great,  I'm sad to say. A lot of people (not hosts) have explained that they have had bad experiences with her. I'm told her children are a bit wild, and they'd rip my place apart! Also, the only other previous host review she had accused her of having "quite excessive demands".

She's been angling after staying more than one night, but unfortunately, I can only offer her what I have - I've other people coming to visit me that week. I've already suggested to her that if she is staying in the city for a week, as I understand she is, it might be best for her to find somewhere more permanent for her and her children to stay.

To put it bluntly, I am scared of the trouble I might be drawing upon myself. It might all be fine, and I might be stressing for nothing. But on the other hand, she might perhaps refuse to leave. I have automatic booking on my account - perhaps this is a good lesson not to have this.

She's due on Sunday. I don't want to cancel obviously, as not only will it impact my score, but it will cause difficulty for the guest. However, I feel I have quite few options on the table here.

Has anyone had any experience of this or any advice?

Look forward to hearing you,

8 Replies 8
Lorna170
Level 10
Swannanoa, NC