Problem with guests and August Smart Lock

Luke52
Level 1
Washington, DC

Problem with guests and August Smart Lock

I have been using the August Smart lock for a few months now, and on paper, it's been great. 

However, more often than not, guests show up at my door without having downloaded the app, much less created an account. August sends an email to all of my guests, but the majority tell me they've never seen it.

As a result, I'm left to guide them through the process of app installation and set up after letting them in. Not a HUGE problem. But, it kind of defeats the purpose of getting a smart lock. 

What have you guys done to encourage your guests to "come prepared". 

70 Replies 70
Joel71
Level 2
Washington, DC

I installed a Yale Assure lock about a year ago that includes the August app. It integrates with Airbnb so that each guest automatically receives a unique entry code and they don’t need to use the (crappy) August app.

Unfortunately, it’s completely unreliable: after about 11 months I started getting reports from guests that their code had stopped working in the middle of their stay (sometimes in the middle of the night!).

August Support can barely communicate in written English and is of no help. 

Basically, it’s so unreliable that I’m back to using a lockbox and physical key. 

The Yale hardware, I should say, is fine. But everything related to August is buggy and terrible.

Don’t do it. 

Pablo1095
Level 2
México D.F., Mexico

Hi everyone! I’m surprised by the bad reviews for the August Lock.. I’ve been using it for years and it’s worked great! Not a single guest has downloaded the app, I use the integration to automatically generate the codes that August sends to the guests, and they simply dial their code to enter.

The only issue is that occasionally the guests don’t receive their code, so I open the app, look for their already generated code and give text it to them..