How do I set up an LLC for AirBNB?

Answered!
Stephanie365
Level 10
Fredericksburg, VA

How do I set up an LLC for AirBNB?

Hello All,

I have been hosting for a few months now and want to add a layer of liability protection. I want to have guests go through an LLC instead of me as a person. I have already discussed with my insurance company and they have no problem adding my LLC as an additional insured.  I am currently registered with my county under my name for the AirBNB, and I would be changing that over as well. I will be setting up a separate bank account as well.

I will still be owning the home, but the Homesharing (AirBNB) would be going through the LLC.

Has anyone done this and does it cause any problems with my AirBNB listing?

1 Best Answer
Quincy
Community Manager
Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

Hi everyone,

Please note that this content has been archived.

You can still access if if you have the link but it won't appear when you search on the Community Center.

To ask a new question just click below:

Stephanie_0-1677152405466.png

Thanks

-----

Please follow the Community Guidelines // Volg de communityrichtlijnen

View Best Answer in original post

71 Replies 71

I'm in the same boat. My plan was to set up the LLC and then open another account at another bank with the account named __________ LLC. Then have Airbnb send payments to that account. I'd then pay myself and all bills related to my properties from that account. 

Seems it still might be wise to talk to a lawyer first to confirm as well as my insurance agent and possibly an accountant.

I own my properties outright and was told if I get sued, I could lose everything . I was under the assumption that if sued, they could only go after the LLC, not me.

Also my taxes were done the other day is my tax person did say the LLC is the way to go to lower taxes.

Curious to know what you ended up doing ?