How do I set up an LLC for AirBNB?

Answered!
Stephanie365
Level 10
Fredericksburg, VA

How do I set up an LLC for AirBNB?

Hello All,

I have been hosting for a few months now and want to add a layer of liability protection. I want to have guests go through an LLC instead of me as a person. I have already discussed with my insurance company and they have no problem adding my LLC as an additional insured.  I am currently registered with my county under my name for the AirBNB, and I would be changing that over as well. I will be setting up a separate bank account as well.

I will still be owning the home, but the Homesharing (AirBNB) would be going through the LLC.

Has anyone done this and does it cause any problems with my AirBNB listing?

1 Best Answer
Quincy
Community Manager
Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

Hi everyone,

Please note that this content has been archived.

You can still access if if you have the link but it won't appear when you search on the Community Center.

To ask a new question just click below:

Stephanie_0-1677152405466.png

Thanks

-----

Please follow the Community Guidelines // Volg de communityrichtlijnen

View Best Answer in original post

71 Replies 71
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

I am sure that each State in the US has its own variations so what might work in one will not apply in another.

I agree that if there was a law case then you would expect that everybody and their dog to be listed, so an LLC would not likely to be of any help as the Property owner/operator would be included.

In my State the activity determines what you need to do as far as licensing etc is concerned, you can operate your business under  a variety of legal headings including that of an individual, any permitting etc is the same.

David
Blythe2
Level 2
San Francisco, CA

I tried to do this.. set up an LLC, ect... should have checked first to see if my bank would allow me to transfer mortage to LLC- they won't. So it was all for nothing.