How long does it take to get your first booking?

Answered!
Raymundo22
Level 2
Austin, TX

How long does it take to get your first booking?

Hello fellow Airbnb hosts!

I am new to hosting on Airbnb, and I am curious to know how long it typically takes for others to get their first booking. Also, if you have experience hosting on the platform, I would love to hear your personal stories and any tips or advice you may have. How did you attract your first guests? What strategies have you found to be most effective in getting bookings? Any feedback on my first listing would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,

Ray

1 Best Answer
Trude0
Level 10
Stockholm County, Sweden

I had a look at your listing now, and it is beautiful, a really nice house with all you might need!

And you've done a great job with the listing/ad - photos, texts/information etc.

This is the kind of house that I typically book for the family, when we go on holiday in the US. 

But I agree with @Patti-And-Marty0:

You probably risk missing bookings for not having a proper bed in the second bedroom - no matter how comfortable the sofa bed might be.

When our girls where younger, we would book houses/hotel suites where the girls would sleep on sofa beds like that one. And it was fine.

When they got older, this did not feel right anymore, so nowadays we make sure they have "real beds", too.

View Best Answer in original post

9 Replies 9
Maia29
Level 10
Anchorage, AK

I received my first booking within days of going live on Airbnb. It was May though, so I'm sure that has a lot to do with it.

I attracted my first guests with competitive pricing, free cancellations, and instant book. Started with really  low rates just to get the first customers.

I recommend:

Always check your competitor's price points and price your listing reasonably

Have an excellent cleaner

Be kind and flexible towards your guest (i.e. if they request early check-in or late check out and you can do that, do it for free)