Accept or Decline when guest won’t withdraw request

Carrie585
Level 2
Knoxville, TN

Accept or Decline when guest won’t withdraw request

I am new to hosting and unsure how to handle this situation. For clarity, we have a very small space so I always confirm with the guests that it will be sufficient before accepting bookings. Instant booking is turned off.
I have a pending request that informed me after messaging that she did not want to reserve after all. I requested twice that she withdraw her booking request but she is nonresponsive.
What do you do in these situations? I don’t want my host rating to be negatively impacting by declining her booking. But it also doesn’t feel right to accept the booking. What is best practice in these situations? 

14 Replies 14
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Carrie585 This is actually why we have IB on. That way our search position is not damaged by declining a guest and yet if we really do not like them once we see their reviews we can cancel free of penalty.

@Carrie585 

Good that you take requests instead of instant book. 
It allows us to have these conversations before we and the guest get committed to a situation that will not work. 

If a requesting guest says she'd not want to book, and will not withdraw the request, I'd decline and explain why the person makes me uncomfortable.  For someone who will not communicate or work with me, that is an uncomfortable situation. 

Deb216
Level 10
Newport, RI

@Carrie,
Years ago I read a post similar to yours.  The Host messaged the Request to book/guest again and used this line: 

"To avoid a charge to your credit card, CANCEL/DELETE your Request to book.  If you need assistance or have any questions, contact Airbnb Customer Service immediately."

Apparently it caught the potential guest's attention.

@Deb216 - so you are advocating lying to the guest? This doesn't feel right to me.

@Mike-And-Jane0 @Absolutely not